Visit COVID-19 resources

[Skip to Content]

Education Committee

The Education Committee of The Royal College of Ophthalmologists is currently chaired by Miss Melanie Corbett. It is made up of College Officers, the Lead Postgraduate Dean, a trainee representative, Council Members, and other Fellows of the College (by secondment).

There are several standing sub-committees and groups working under the auspices of the Education Committee. These are:

  1. Undergraduate and Foundation – Dr Michael Williams
  2. Training the Multi-Professionals – Professor Carrie MacEwen
  3. Awards and Scholarships Lead – Mr Aman Chandra
  4. e-learning – Ms Rebecca Ford
  5. Trainers the Trainers (TTT) – Miss Rajni Jain
  6. Mentoring and Buddying – Mrs Sally Webber
  7. New Consultants –  Miss Anna Maino
  8. CPD Sub-committee – on hold
  9. Training the GPs and other Specialties – Miss Stella Hornby
  10. Service Managers – Miss Louisa Wickham

Each Sub-committee or Working Party is led by a member of the Education Committee and usually has 1 to 4 members. The broad purposes of the Education Committee are:

  • To ensure that the principal educational purposes of the College are fulfilled by supporting and developing programmes for undergraduate medical education, postgraduate ophthalmic training and continuing professional development.
  • To thus ensure, by facilitating the acquisition of appropriate knowledge, understanding, skills, values and attitudes, that patients are treated by safe, competent doctors pursuing successful careers.
  • To promote interdisciplinary education, training and teamworking among the professions in partnership in eye and vision care towards an effective multiprofessional workforce.
  • To sustain the high profile and renown of UK ophthalmic education and training internationally.

Queries can be directed to the relevant Chairman through the College.


Contact the Education & Training department