Visit COVID-19 resources

[Skip to Content]
Registration for RCOphth Congress 2018

Annual Congress 2018

Monday 21 – Thursday 24 May 2018

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists Annual Congress 2018 took place at the Arena & Convention Centre (ACC), Liverpool.

Congress Prize Winners

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists was pleased to award the following prizes at the 2018 Congress

Johnson and Johnson Innovation Prize for best poster
Dr Paul Steptoe, University of Liverpool
Evolving Regions of Ellipsoid Zone Hyporeflectivity Associated with Retinal Lesions of Infectious Aetiology. Longitudinal Ultra-Widefield (UWF) Retinal Imaging Observations in a Cohort of Ebola Virus Disease (EVD) Survivors, Sierra Leone

Runner up Johnson and Johnson Innovation Prize for best poster
Dr Sohaib Rufai, Leicester Royal Infirmary
Is structural grading of foveal hypoplasia in infants compared to quantitative segmentation analysis using handheld optical coherence tomography in the prediction of future visual acuity? A longitudinal cohort study

Wallace Foulds Trophy for Best Rapid Fire
Stephen Stewart, Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast
UK National Surveillance of Emergency Canthotomy & Cantholysis

RCOphth/ Bausch and Lomb sustainability prize
Conor Reid, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge
CatCam: A novel device for congenital cataract screening

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists and the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Researcher of the Year Award
David Steel (Consultant)
Stephen Kaye (Consultant)
Pouya Alaghbad (Trainee)

Desmond Wright Shield for best exhibitor