[Skip to Content]


The NIHR Ophthalmology Specialty Group

England is divided into 15 Local Clinical Research Networks (LRNs or LCRNs), each of which is led by a Regional Ophthalmology Specialty Group Lead (OSGs). Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales also are represented on the Specialty Group. These 18 consultant ophthalmologists have a passion for bringing clinical research opportunities to patients, with an in-depth understanding of how

The NIHR Ophthalmology Clinical Research Network

Research in the UK is the front line of innovation and maintaining quality of care for patients and benefits society as a whole. The UK  Ophthalmology Clinical Research Network aims to bring together patients, clinicians, healthcare professionals and the wider eye care sector both nationally and internationally, providing information and guidance on the incredible work undertaken in

NIHR Report from RCOphth Congress 2017: Ten years of ophthalmology research delivery in the NHS: successes, challenges and future aspirations

Dr Jonathan Sheffield OBE, CEO of the Clinical Research Network NIHR (National Institute for Health Research) opened a symposium dedicated to the first ten years of the NIHR and the contribution of Ophthalmology. He outlined the objectives of the NIHR and the successes in making clinical research in the UK more efficient, more transparent and more

Annual Congress 2018

Monday 21 – Thursday 24 May 2018 The Royal College of Ophthalmologists Annual Congress 2018 took place at the Arena & Convention Centre (ACC), Liverpool. Congress Prize Winners The Royal College of Ophthalmologists was pleased to award the following prizes at the 2018 Congress Johnson and Johnson Innovation Prize for best poster Dr Paul Steptoe, University of Liverpool

RCOphth and NIHR Researcher of the Year Awards

The Royal College of Ophthalmologists and The National Institute for Health Research are pleased to announce the launch of a new national award scheme to recognise outstanding contribution to clinical research by Fellows/ Members of the College. The RCOphth/ NIHR clinical researcher of the year award is launched this year, commemorating 10 years of the