[Skip to Content]

Appraiser List

If you are a member of the College and are not yet connected to a designated body or your designated body is not in a position to provide you with appraisal then please view the list below for details of consultants who are trained appraisers in their own organisations and are willing to offer appraisals to colleagues in an independent capacity.

Please note an expression of interest does not oblige an appraiser to accept any specific request to conduct an appraisal.

Region Title First Name Last Name Email address
East Anglia Mr Aires Lobo Aires.lobo@moorfields.nhs.uk
West Midlands Mr Ajay Tripathi ajtrip@nhs.net
North West Miss Anna Maino a.maino@doctors.org.uk
Scotland Dr David Yorston dbyorston@btinternet.com
South West Ms Kate Claridge Kate.claridge@rcht.cornwall.nhs.uk
Northern Mr William Sellar peter.william.sellar@ncuh.nhs.uk
Mersey Mr Prasad Palimar Prasad.palimar@whh.nhs.uk
Yorkshire Mr Atul Varma atul.varma@midyorks.nhs.uk
Scotland West Mr James Angus Scott angus.scott@nhs.net
West Midlands Miss Lucilla Butler Lucilla.butler@nhs.net
West Midlands Mr Tim Matthews Tim.Matthews@uhb.nhs.uk
North West Miss Priya Bhatt priya.bhatt@boltonft.nhs.uk

The appraisee will be responsible for ensuring that the arrangement is acceptable to their Responsible Officer or Suitable Person. 

The appraiser’s role is to conduct an appraisal based on the appraisee’s portfolio, using the framework set out by the GMC and to agree a summary of the appraisal discussion.  The appraiser is not required to make a judgement about the appraisee’s suitability for revalidation or fitness to practise.  The appraiser is responsible for providing evidence of their appropriateness to act as an appraiser.

The College is not a Designated Body for revalidation and does not manage or quality assure appraisal.  It is not able to mediate in the unlikely event of disagreements or conflicts of interest arising from appraisal.

Specialty Advisers

Ms Priya Bhatt, Consultant Ophthalmologist

Mr Kashif Qureshi, Consultant Ophthalmologist