ACCEA applications for award extension close on 31 July 2020

  • 18 Jun 2020
  • RCOphth

Professor Kevin Davies, Consultant Rheumatologist and Foundation Chair of Medicine at Brighton & Sussex Medical School, has been formally announced as the new Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) Medical Director, starting on 1 July.

The ACCEA are currently working on their COVID exit strategy and next steps on national CEA reform and its consultation. ACCEA has also this week opened the one year extension application process.

The 2020 National Clinical Excellence Awards round was suspended due the COVID crisis. Ministers have agreed to extend those awards that were due to be renewed in 2020 by one year. All awards so-extended will be due for renewal in the 2021 competition and renewable for 4 years. National Clinical Excellence Award holders who were due to submit a renewal application in 2020 (and whose award is due to expire 1 April 2021) should complete the application form using the link above.

If you are in any doubt whether this includes you, you can check your award’s renewal year by logging on to your account and clicking the ‘My Award’ tab. If you still need help or advice, please contact ACCEA.

Applications for award extension close on 31 July 2020. We will keep RCOphth members informed as soon as we receive further information from the ACCEA about the next award round.