Visit COVID-19 resources

[Skip to Content]

RCOphth Honorary Fellowships

“Honorary Fellows are persons, whether medically qualified or not, who have made notable contributions to ophthalmology. There should not be more than one hundred Honorary Fellows at any one time

Ordinances of The Royal College of Ophthalmologists

All members are invited to submit nominations for Honorary Fellowships each year.  The award of Honorary Fellow is the highest accolade that the RCOphth can bestow, recognising individuals who have made a significant contribution to ophthalmology.

Individuals can be from any field of ophthalmic science, research and medicine or a member of the general public, so long as their work has inspired, contributed to or made an impact in the field of ophthalmology and the wider eye health sector.  Generally, awards are made to one or two individuals each year.

The honour is conferred at the Admissions Ceremony held every year in September. A citation summarising the recipient’s achievement is delivered at the ceremony and edited versions appears in College News, or you can view a link to the citations against the Honorary Fellow name in the table below.

Honorary Fellows cannot vote or hold RCOphth office.

Our current Honorary Fellows

1990 Michael J Roper-Hall

1993 Richard Keeler

1995 Stephen M Drance OC

1997 Lord Turnberg KBE

1998 Björn Thylefors

1999 Eva M Kohner OBE

1999 Sir Kenneth C Calman KCB

2001 Terry R Tarrant

2002 Alan Bird

2002 Jean, Lady Wilson OBE

2003 Gordon Johnson

2005 John Marshall

2006 Anthony Chignell MBE

2006 Keith M Waddell

2006 David Taylor

2008 Jeffrey L Jay CBE

2009 Sohan Singh Hayreh

2010 Timothy John ffytche

2011 Stanley Piers B Percival

2013 Nicholas J Astbury

2015 Brenda Billington OBE

2017 Roger Hitchings

2018 Harminder Dua

2019 Usha Chakravarthy

2020 Professor Ian George Rennie

2021 Professor Roger Buckley

2021 Dr Santosh Honavar

1992 Wallace S Foulds CBE

1993 Sir Terence English

1996 Jean Jacques de Laey

1998 Alexander L Crombie

1998 Brian Martin

1999 Sidney I Davidson

2001 Michael D Sanders

2001 William R Lee CBE

2002 George Borthwick CBE

2003 Desmond Archer OBE

2003 Gottfried O H Naumann

2005 Alec Garner

2005 Margaret Hallendorff MBE

2007 Anthony J Bron

2009 John E Wright

2010 Paul A Hunter

2011 Michael Brace CBE

2012 Alistair R Fielder

2014 John Forrester

2016 Richard Collin

2016 Allen Foster

2017 Harry Willshaw

2018 Marcia Zondervan

2019 Carrie MacEwen

2020 Professor Clare Gilbert

2021 Professor Sir Peng Khaw